Serving Veterinary Regulatory Boards in the Interest of Public Protection

About Us

AAVSB Headquarters. Kansas City, Missouri

The AAVSB is a nonprofit corporation with 501(c)(3) status from the IRS and is headquartered in Kansas City, MO. The AAVSB is an association of regulatory boards whose membership includes 60 jurisdictions, licensing boards in veterinary medicine. Membership includes all of the United States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and seven Canadian provinces: Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, and Saskatchewan.

The mission of the AAVSB is to provide quality resources and information for veterinary regulatory agencies and allied groups in the interest of public protection. The AAVSB's vision is to inspire active participation of all veterinary regulatory agencies in North America and to be their collective voice. The values of the AAVSB include responsive resourceful service while striving for continuous quality improvement.
The AAVSB initiates and carries out programs designed to assist and facilitate the public protection mission of the Member Boards, and these programs and services are developed through the collective, organized effort that occurs via membership in the AAVSB. The AAVSB lessens the burden on the licensing boards by providing relevant programs and services that provide great benefits to the Member Boards via economies of scale and endorsement among members.
The AAVSB's key programs include the Veterinary Information Verifying Agency (VIVA), Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE), Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE), Registry of Approved Continuing Education program (RACE). The AAVSB's newest service for both veterinarians and veterinary technicians is the Veterinary Continuing Education Tracking service (VCET). Additional member services include the Annual Meeting, Practice Act Model, member communication, and special access to MyAAVSB.

AAVSB Governance

The Member Boards appoint voting Delegates who elect the members of the AAVSB Board of Directors and vote on other pertinent association issues at an Annual Meeting. The Board of Directors is responsible for governing the organization.

 PDF AAVSB Bylaws 2015 (pdf)

2015-2016 AAVSB Board of Directors

Pictured from left: James T. Penrod, CAE, FASLA - Secretary & Executive Director, Roger Redman, DVM - Director, Michael Gotchey, DVM - Director, Beckey Malphus, DVM - Immediate Past President, Frank Walker, DVM - President-Elect, John Lawrence, DVM, President, Mark Olson, DVM - Treasurer, Leslie Knachel - Director, Walter Robinson, DVM - Director, Chris Runde, DVM - Director, Kim Gemeinhardt, DVM - Director


Stay up to date on what's going on with the AAVSB through:

Video Presentation

The "Continue" button below will take you out of the AAVSB website. Links which take you out of the AAVSB website are not under the control of the AAVSB, and the AAVSB is not responsible for the contents of any such site or any further links from such site. AAVSB is providing these links to you only as a convenience, and the inclusion of any link does not imply endorsement of the linked site by the AAVSB.