The AAVSB Announces Recipients of the Spring 2023 VTNE Scholarship Award

The American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) is pleased to announce the recipients of the Spring 2023 Veterinary Technician National Examination® Scholarship Award. The AAVSB was thrilled to receive such exceptional scholarship award recipients from the American Veterinary Medical Association Committee on Veterinary Education and Activities (AVMA-CVTEA) and Canadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) accredited veterinary technology/nursing programs.

It is extremely exciting to see so many veterinary technician students with a commitment to leadership who exhibit academic achievement, diversity, and inclusivity. These candidates for the veterinary profession will have an opportunity to be an asset in serving animals and the public in communities of varied backgrounds, community involvement, and/or volunteerism.

Leslie Knachel, President of the AAVSB said, "We are happy to be able to support our Technicians through this scholarship opportunity. The AASVB is honored to celebrate, recognize, and support the valuable contributions that veterinary technicians provide to the profession of veterinary medicine.”

The VTNE Scholarship Award is presented to one graduating student recognized by their veterinary technology/nursing program faculty who fosters, cultivates, and preserves a culture of leadership, diversity, equity, and inclusion, and treats everyone with respect and dignity. Recipients receive a voucher waiving the fee for the VTNE exam.

Congratulations to the Spring 2023 VTNE Scholarship Award Recipients:




Arkansas State University Beebe

Emily Alexander

Baton Rouge Community College

Paige Roussel 

Cape Fear Community College

Heather  Henderson 

Carver Career Center and BridgeValley CTC 

Katherine Ramey

Central Carolina Community College

Grace Wilson

Central New Mexico Community College

Rose Kantor

Columbia State Community College

Elizabeth  Beasley

Douglas College 

Stephanie Burk

Fox Valley Technical College

Marisa Slempkes

Institute of Medical and Business Careers (IMBC)

Tammie Grove

Joliet Junior College

Ashley Kolton

Kent State University at Trumball

Kayla Lowery

Lakeland College

Keanna Gorgichuk

Long Island University 

Chloe Dumola

Metropolitan Community College Maple Woods

Savannah Vajda

Midwest Institute

Kortni Wuelling

New England Institute of Technology

Nadya  Sasa

Northern College

Sarah Lomax 

Northwestern State University

Joshua Abner

Owensboro Community and Technical College

Ashley Rose

Pierce College

Catherine  Morgan 

Pima Community College, East Campus

Laysha  Valdez

Pima medical Institute CO Springs

Kathy Peot

Portland Community College

McKenna Drasye

Red River College Polytechnic

Rachel Hiebert

San Diego Mesa College

Sandy Le

Southern Regional Technical College

Leigha Sapp

St. Petersburg College

Angela Pickering

Thompson School of Applied Science               

University of New Hampshire

Allie Bennett

Universidad Ana G. Méndez - Ponce

Vanessa Rodriguez

University of Cincinnati, Blue Ash College

Rachel Chertoff

University of Guelph, Ridgetown Campus

Anniken  Young

Wilson College

Elizabeth  Grim

Learn more about our awards


About the AAVSB: The AAVSB is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to strengthen the veterinary regulatory community. The membership of the AAVSB consists of 62 jurisdictions representing all of the United States and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and nine Canadian provinces: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, and Saskatchewan.